A new idiot in town

The latest email scam is breathtakingly stupid, but still serves as a warning to read things carefully.

If you’re going to cheat someone out of their money it’s probably not a good idea to give the potential victim your telephone number. Today I received this email and the highlighted bits are by me. Read on.


Attention: Important, DOMAIN SERVICE

Call: 1-631-318-4533

ATT: Domain Owner >REDACTED<


Requested Reply Before
September 18, 2017



Attn: Domain Owner CHRIS HARRISON
As a courtesy to domain name holders, we are sending you this notification for your business Domain name search engine registration.

This letter is to inform you that it’s time to send in your registration and save.

Failure to complete your Domain name search engine registration by the expiration date may result in cancellation of this proposal making it difficult for your customers to locate you on the web.

Privatization allows the consumer a choice when registering. Search engine subscription includes domain name search engine submission.

You are under no obligation to pay the amounts stated below unless you accept this proposal. Do not discard, this notice is not an invoice it is a courtesy reminder to register your domain name search engine registration so your customers can locate you on the web.

This Notice for: WWW.TOTENHERZEN.COM will be terminated on September 18, 2017 Act today!

[ ] 1 year 09/18/2017 – 09/18/2018 $75.00
[ ] 2 year 09/18/2017 – 09/18/2019 $119.00
[ ] 5 year 09/18/2017 – 09/18/2022 $199.00
[ ] 10 year -Most Recommended- 09/18/2017 – 09/18/2027 $295.00
[ ] Lifetime (NEW!) Limited time proposal – Great value! Lifetime $499.00

Payment by Credit Card or Check
Call our New York main office: (631)318-4533


By accepting this proposal, you agree not to hold DS liable for any part. Note that THIS IS NOT A BILL. This is a solicitation. You are under no obligation to pay the amounts stated unless you accept this proposal. The information in this letter contains confidential and/or legally privileged information from the notification processing department of the DS. This information is intended only for the use of the individual(s) named above. There is no pre-existing relationship between DS and the domain mentioned above. This notice is not in any part associated with a continuation of services for domain registration. Search engine submission is an optional service that you can use as a part of your website optimization and alone may not increase the traffic to your site. If you do not wish to receive further updates from DS reply with Remove to unsubscribe. If you are not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that disclosure, copying, distribution or the taking of any action in reliance on the contents of this letter is strictly prohibited.


Anyone active on the web with their own websites will be aware of the phrase domain name registration and the importance of keeping the name registered to prevent losing it. When I skimmed over this email the words highlighted in red above jumped out, making me think it was a scam to get me to renew the registration.

The second time I read it was when I noticed the insertion of the words search engine. Clever! And on reading it a third time that big disclaimer goes out of its way to say these shysters have no previous connection to me, is for search engine registration not domain name registration, and then the cherry on the cake, a threat to stop me from disclosing, copying, distributing or taking action on the contents of the letter.

Well, sorry Mr Email Scammer of the DS New York office, I just did all of that.

Actually, these idiots may not be so idiotic after all. They are skating along a very fine line between legal and fraudulent hoping I won’t read the message properly and pay for something that I don’t need, but is explicitly described.

I will, however, be disclosing, copying, distributing and taking action in reliance on the contents of this letter with GoDaddy and Plus Net so that they can let their own legal teams decide if this is fraudulent and deal with it accordingly.

If you are grateful for receiving this advice please send me a private message including your credit card details so that I can withdraw the sum of £100. (Terms and conditions apply which you do not need to know.)

9 thoughts on “A new idiot in town

  1. The scammers must be aware that 99% of people would probably delete their spam. I think it’s the lazy and stupid ones who are left emailing folk while the savvy criminals are off learning C++ so that they can hack the banks.


  2. I wonder if the scammers are aware there are legion of ‘old fools’ like me, who would simply say ‘I haven’t got a clue what you are talking about’* and delete the e-mail, while mumbling away to themselves about ‘technology today is getting beyond a joke’?
    Just a thought.

    * That’s the polite version by the way

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Sad but in all probably very true.
        How any one could fall for an e-mail ‘from HMRC’ saying they are due a tax refund with the words ‘think what you could do that that? Buy that new car? Splash out on a holiday?’ must be a very easy target. (I worked in HMRC for 25+ years) – (Personally I wasn’t aware I had so much income in the USA that I qualified for a refund from IRS….must check that source out some day)

        Liked by 1 person

Don't be afraid to leave a comment. I don't bite. (But I know people who do...)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s