I’ve been nominated for the Dragon’s Loyalty Award, which is handed out to generally good eggs and top folk who leave comments (not spam) on other people’s blogs. I was nominated by the angelic Princess Kick-ass who, to my knowledge has never held a six foot long machete and burst into a room calling people ‘***ts.’

Princess Kick-ass blog

My thanks to her highness for nominating me.

The Award, like all blogging awards, comes with strings attached. I have to tell you seven things about myself and then nominate up to fifteen bloggers who regularly comment on my blog. Well, I’d be a happy man if fifteen people regularly commented on my blog, so I’ll be pushed to reach about half a dozen. And as Princess K-a has already got the award I can’t nominate her.

I’ll cross that shaky bridge when I come to it, but for now seven incredible things about me:*

1 I’ve only seen one Star Wars film. The first one. (The very first one in the 1970s.) The real first one.

2 My favourite breed of dog is the Samoyed.

3 I once memorised the pronunciation of Bangkok’s full ceremonial name. (Krungthepmahanakhon Amonrattanakosin Mahintharayutthaya Mahadilokphop Noppharatratchathaniburirom Udomratchaniwetmahasathan Amonphimanawatansathit Sakkathattiyawitsanukamprasit)

4 In 1984, after getting seasick on a cross-Channel ferry, I vomitted on a group of French schoolkids.

5 According to a psychic friend, in a previous life I made ornamental baskets and died after falling from a window ledge during a siege

6 During my first driving lesson on my seventeenth birthday I crashed the car.

7 In forty-nine years I’ve only ever had one winning raffle ticket (a box of chocolates in 1975).

*None of which are of any use or interest to literary agents.

My nominees. According to the rules I’m allowed up to fifteen, but there aren’t fifteen regulars commenting on this blog, so I’ll just name everyone who ever has left a comment. (With the exception of You KNow Who at the start of this post):

Jack Flacco

Stevie Turner

Audrey Driscoll

Emily F Russel (Piss, Coffee and Vinegar)

Alen McFadzean (Awkward Roads)

Rupert Dreyfus

The Celtic Predator (Express Elevator to Hell)

Tara Sparling

C.S. Wilde (don’t ask)

Kaine Andrews

Jane Dougherty

Charles Yallowitz (Legends of Windemere)

I could also include Aaron Wylie of Au4 and Timo Somers of rock band Delain, but they don’t blog!

Look at that, fourteen people have left comments, fifteen if you include Princess Kick-ass. I am popular after all. (Problem is, how do I let them know of their nomination?)

 

 

16 thoughts on “Dragon Award

    • I can remember the third one about equal opposite reactions, but not word perfect. I also memorised the longest Swedish, German and English words, that immense one from New Zealand and the ubiquitous LlanfairPG jobbie from Anglesey. Looking back, I can see why I failed all my o-levels.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’d like to thank the academy, and all you little people out there who made this possible… *nomination tears.* There’ll be several Buzzfeed articles later about who I’m wearing.

    PS–vomiting on schoolchildren is interesting to anybody. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Don't be afraid to leave a comment. I don't bite. (But I know people who do...)

