Why I Listen to Trance

At the risk of tempting fate I’m going to predict something: I’ll be struck by lightning before my brain falls to bits. Why? Because of euphoric trance. And before you start shouting ‘it’s uplifting trance, moron’ I couldn’t care less what you call it. I’m sticking with euphoric because uplifting trance sounds like a geological term.

The other weird thing about trance is that I can remember exactly where I was when I first heard it. I had gone round to a friend’s house to go out one Saturday night and she said ‘have a listen to this…’ This was Ferry Corsten’s remix of William Orbit’s remix of Adagio. (There’s a lot of remixing remixes in trance.)

But years later, I’m here typing this and listening to Talla 2XLC’s Shine (Club Mix), a mind boggling nine minutes of musical bliss.

So where does the brain saving bit come into it then? Well, it’s what goes through my head when I’m listening to this stuff. The lights, the pyrotechnics; it’s music that fires my imagination and apparently, if you keep your mind exercised it helps to stop your brain from rotting.

I’ve come across deadbeats who don’t like trance and one of the criticisms they often spew out is that it’s all machine made, digital music by numbers. The thing is, none of these deadbeats could sit at a computer in a million years and come up with anything to compare with Symbols (by Fictivision vs C-quence), or Garry Heaney’s Lisbon, or Invisible (Lost Tribe Vocal Mix) by Tilt. I know this because I’ve tried. Spent years trying and never came close to anything that remotely resembled the production brilliance of Bissen or Super8 or Vast Vision or Angry Man (whoever he is).

And then there’s the vocalists. Or one in particular: Fisher (real name Kathleen Fisher). I can’t begin to describe it, so you’ll just have to have a listen instead. In fact, get an earful of my top three recommendations. In ten years time you might find yourself writing a similar blog post to this one. Just remember where you heard it first.

Lifted – Tritonal feat. Cristina Soto (Andres Sanchez Remix)

Closer Now – Filo and Peri feat. Kathleen Fisher (Whiteroom Remix) (stick with it to 1:58 to hear this woman’s incredible voice…)

Dynamic Stability – Mark Eteson & Jon Prior (Aly and Fila Remix)

and one more…

Med vs Neil Bamford – Light Up

(Featured image Jacqui Barker)

<< Back to Random Posts


page-books

2 thoughts on “Why I Listen to Trance

  1. I love trance. I enjoy the rhythm, the vibe, the whole beauty of the music. I used to be a collector a few years ago and it took a while for me to purchase all the ones I loved. The thing is, some of the club mixes I love are only available either on livestream or via other channels. It doesn’t matter though, they’re still enjoyable.

    I wish I had my headphones on now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I found a couple of excellent sites a few years back: forgotten the name of one, but Anjunabeats was the other. My trance appreciation exploded when I discovered Aly & Fila’s Future Sound of Egypt broadcasts. Today, there is still the thrill when a new track is discovered and a new producer along with it.
      Chris

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be afraid to leave a comment. I don't bite. (But I know people who do...)

