Jack the Giant Slayer (2013)

Nicholas Hoult, Eleanor Tomlinson, Ewan McGregor, Stanley Tucci, Ian McShane, Bill Nighy
Dir. Bryan Singer

jackthegiantslayerYes, the proper title is Jack the Giant Killer, but even though giants are killed in great quantities we can’t have violence in the film title. It’s the old folktale, beans and beanstalks, giants and princesses, all brought to life with spectacular special effects and directorial speed and vim. Just a pity Nicholas Hoult’s portrayal of Jack is as wooden as the house he lives in.

I watched half this film thinking the villainous Roderick was being played by Steve Coogan, but I started to get the uncanny feeling that Stanley Tucci was hiding behind the beard. And it was. What I didn’t spot was the voice of Bill Nighy voicing the giant General Fallon. Well done Bill, you finally fooled me. When I saw Underworld for the first time and Victor’s sinewy remains were exhumed I looked at the thing, all blood and viscera and thought, stone me, it looks like Bill Nighy. Sorry Bill, no disrespect, but I honestly didn’t know it was you at the time.

I’d recommend Jack the Giant Slayer, it’s a sugary meal and fills a gap. Pacey, huge production values and they don’t write stories like that anymore. Well, sometimes they do. Like the Hunger Games, a rollicking good yarn never goes out of fashion.

<< Back to Reviews


page-books

Don't be afraid to leave a comment. I don't bite. (But I know people who do...)

